top of page
  • Writer's pictureVZCHC

Distinguished Service Award for Van Zandt County Historical Commission, 11th Consecutive Year

Updated: Jul 3, 2019

The Van Zandt County Historical Commission has been awarded the Distinguished Service Award (DSA) by the Texas Historical Commission (THC) for the 11th year in a row. The DSA is given by the THC to county historical commissions with outstanding involvement in their communities and dedication to historical research and preservation.

The award was presented to several members of the Historical Commission in attendance at the regular meeting of the Van Zandt County Commissioners Court on June 26, 2019. County Judge Don Kirkpatrick stated how proud he and the Commissioners were of the Historical Commission for the work they do for Van Zandt County, and he stressed how impressive it is for a county to receive the DSA so many years in a row.

Historical Commission members receiving the DSA at the Commissioners Court meeting on June 26, 2019. From right to left, back row: Commissioner Brandon Brown, Commissioner Virgil Melton, County Judge Don Kirkpatrick, Commissioner Keith Pearson. Left to right, front row: Commissioner and Historical Commission Vice Chairman Tim West, Commission Chairman Elvis Allen, Commission members Cindy Cooper, Suzanne Bass, Linda Mays and Benja Mize.

36 views0 comments


bottom of page